This course is required for anyone looking to obtain a New York State Driver’s License. Ages 16 or older with valid learners permit to take the course online or in-person.
Unmatched ease of registration for both our online and in-person classes. Email sent with info and Zoom link immediately after registration.
The average driver will drive for 55 years and travel over 1 million miles behind the steering wheel. Most new drivers will not have the opportunity to take professional driving lessons or driver’s education, even though this is the preferred way to learn. New York State Department of Motor Vehicles and Gigliotti's Driving School feel such a venture must start with a 5-hour, pre-licensing course. The student will have the opportunity to ask questions to a professional driving instructor. Each student will learn the basic rules of the road, defensive driving strategies, and other important concepts to carry with them for the next half-century.
Students will also have the opportunity to feel what driving under the influence of alcohol feels like with our new .18 BAC goggles, and why drinking and drugged driving is so dangerous.
Approved, Certified & Monitored by the Department of Motor Vehicles
NY State Department of Motor Vehicles
*Requirement to Obtain your Driver's License
Who Must Take it
- Anyone looking to obtain a New York State Driver’s License regardless of age (Must have valid pictured permit).
- Driver's Education Certificate MV-285 holders are exempt from taking this course.
- All students will receive a 5-Hour Pre-Licensing Course Completion Certificate, also known as Form MV-278.
- Students will learn the most current traffic laws, rules and regulations.
- Applicants will be able to schedule a Road Test with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Must Register Online
- To ensure class size you must register online
- No walk-ins allowed at this time
Fees & Options
$65Classroom Course Fee
$65Online Course Fee
$15(Optional) Road Test Scheduling with first available appointments anywhere in NYS. Scheduled during class
$15(Optional) After receiving certificate please call the office for road test scheduling
Did you lose your certificate and need a duplicate?
Remember your certificate expires one year from original issuance date.
We recommend at every class that you take a picture of your certificate. If you did, you can show up to any 5-Hour Course with that picture, your permit, $35 and a duplicate can be issued.
Please Call 315.732.5049
If you did not take a picture, we will need you to provide the following:
- Your Name
- Location of the class
- Date of the class
We require 72 hour processing time to issue a duplicate if you did not take a picture.
Original 5-hour course certificate must be presented to the road test examiner. Pictures or photo copies are not accepted.
Schedule & Locations
Please select a location to see the upcoming schedule.
Must Register Online
The Professional Building
1 Paris Road, New Hartford
(Corner of Genesee St. & Pearl St.
in the Village of New Hartford)
339 Genesee St. Utica
(Across from Dunkin Donuts, in the middle of the traffic circle)
E.F.K. Plaza 316 E. State St.
(Located in the rear of the building)
Must Register Online
We welcome our Rome students to attend either our Utica or New Hartford locations at this time
What Must I Bring To Class?
Current NYS Photo Learner Permit or a valid interim permit with a NYS identification card.
$65 Classroom/Online Fee
$15 Scheduling Fee (Optional)
Road Tests Scheduled, with first available appointments anywhere in NYS
Read Our Reviews
Kristin Abbate, Utica, NY
Gigliotti's Driving School was a class act all the way through. From the pleasant secretary on the phone to the experienced driving instructors and teachers, I highly recommend this driving school. Wonderful experience all around!
Julian , Utica, NY
Appreciate all the help. Thank you Great People!!!
Body , Utica, NY
Couldn't have done it without you guys!!! Thank you for your patience.
Big Blue, Utica, NY
Great experience! Thank you, Gigliotti's!
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, you can take the 5 Hour Course Online with us no matter where you live in New York State
If you are 16 or 17 years old, we suggest that you wait at least 5 months into your 6 month waiting period to take your 5-Hour Course.Learn More Remember your certificate expires one year from original issuance date.
5 Hour Class, Pre-Licensing Course, NYS 5 Hour Online, New York Pre-Licensing Class
No. The 5-Hour Course is a mandatory course that everyone needs to take in order to obtain a NYS Driver's License. If you would like a insurance discount, you can take our Defensive Driving Course.
Scroll up to Duplicate Certificates and your questions will be answered.
Graduated Drivers License
The Graduated Drivers License Changes For Drivers Under The Age of 18