Impaired Driver Program

This class is mandatory for anyone looking to obtain a conditional driver’s license after a drinking or drugged driving offense.

  • Next Class: Monday Mar 18, 2019

Program Overview

We are proud to be the only driving school in New York State to offer the Impaired Driver Program (IDP). The program includes NYS specific law and traffic safety information along with education through "The Change Companies" curriculum. In addition to classroom education, students are screened and referrals are made, if warranted, for evaluation and treatment. We strive to deliver engaging material and premier driver safety.

Enrollment is limited only to those motorists referred to the program by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles.

noun_Pencil_2062475 Created with Sketch. Writing Sample

Who Must Take it

  • Anyone convicted of a drinking or drugged driving offense and referred to the program by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
  • Mandated by the court.
  • Satisfy out-of-state DUI arrest.

Program Highlights

  • The Change Companies Curriculum.
  • Engaging Material.
  • Comfortable and private setting.

Registration

You must sign up through the DMV.

Enrollment is only to those motorists who were referred to the program by the Department of Motor Vehicles or the court. You must sign up through the DMV. If you were convicted of a DUI in another state you can contact us directly to enroll.
noun_documents_2041109Created with Sketch.

Fees & Options

  • $234
    Course Fee
Cash, Check and Credit Card accepted.
ShapeCreated with Sketch.

Schedule & Locations

New Hartford

Professional Building
1 Paris Road
New Hartford, NY 13413

Corner of Genesee St. and Pearl St. in the Village of New Hartford.

Herkimer

EFK Plaza
316 E. State Street
Herkimer, NY 13350

Located in the rear of the building.

Monday Nights 6-8 or 8:30PM

7 Week Program
16 Hours Total

Next Class: Mar 18, 2019

What Must I Bring To Class?

Group 3Created with Sketch.

Driver’s License

If Applicable

Group 4Created with Sketch.

DMV Paperwork

If Applicable

Group 4Created with Sketch.

Court Paperwork

If Applicable

GroupCreated with Sketch.

$234 Course Fee

Required: Cash, Check and Credit Card Accepted

Read Our Reviews

    Mariah , Utica, NY

    I thought this class was educational and helpful in a lot of ways. Mainly by being a judge free zone. It made this embarrassing experience more comfortable while guiding us through how to make better decisions and practice healthier lifestyles. Don't drink and drive.

    Coogs , Utica, NY

    BJ and the instructors are very kind and understanding. I learned a lot about DWI, but also other important safety tips/advice about all facets of driving. I was hesitant going in but it was a very friendly atmosphere without judgment.

    Amanda , Utica, NY

    Great class, never feel like you are being punished. Learned a lot. BJ is a great teacher and makes learning fun. Thanks BJ

Frequently Asked Questions

The program consists of 7 weekly classes. Each class is either 2 or 2 ½ hours for 16 hours total.
You must take this class if you were mandated by the court or referred to by the DMV. You must also take the program if you would like to obtain a conditional license.
Yes, this is called a “courtesy enrollment.” You must check with the state in which you are licensed to be sure the program will satisfy that state’s requirements.
You can pay by cash, check or credit card. Payment must be made in full by the third session.
You will have to make up that class at a different time in order to complete the program.
We don’t use a congested public location, our classrooms are located at a private setting for your convenience and security.